Have You Check Your 3G Modem Network Type?

If you got the following error message when you’re connecting to the Internet using 3G modem, you might want to check the 3G modem configuration first before you buy a new 3G modem.

# wvdial -C /etc/wvdial-modem.conf
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
NO CARRIER
--> No Carrier!  Trying again.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.

To check the modem configuration, you can need to use the software provided by the modem. I am using Huawei 3G modem and it comes with the Mobile Partner software. Unfortunately the software can only be run in Windows XP.

So your first step should be find a computer with Windows XP installed, then install the Mobile Partner software to it.

[Luckily, a friend of mine, allows me to use his laptop for testing my modem.]

After finishing the installation, run the Mobile Partner software and check the network configuration. You can do so by going to “Tools > Options“. Then go to the “Network” option and select the “Network Type” tab :

Here is my “Network Type” setting when I can’t go to the Internet :

gsm-pref-config

After I change the “Network Type” to the following configuration :

gsm-only-config

I am able to connect to the Internet although I only get connection with GPRS speed. That’s good enough compare to if I don’t have Internet connection at all.

[Updated July 31, 2009 : There is an open source software called umtsmon that can be used to change the network type. And now I changed my connection type to “3G Preferred” but I only got GPRS speed. I haven’t play with the MobileConnect software again.]

Leave a Reply

