Upgrade to openSUSE 11.0

[This article was written last month – sometime in July 2008]

Recently I got a chance to upgrade my openSUSE 10.3 system to openSUSE 11.0. This happened because Novell send me a retail version of openSUSE 11.0 (DVD Dual-Layer).

Overall there are no major problems during the upgrade process.

But after the upgrade, I found out several problems :

  • Amarok is not working correctly. It can play MP3 files, but not CD.

[FIXED] The problem lies in amarok-yauap package. When I chose GStreamer/Yauap as the sound engine, amarok can’t find the tracks on the CD. But when I use the Xine as the sound engine, amarok can play the tracks flawlessly.

  • The fonts in YaST2 Software Management are problematic. In one part, the size is very big, at the other part, it’s very small.
  • The upgrade process deleted several software applications installed not from openSUSE such as : xmms, freemind.

[FIXED] I reinstall the applications again. You can download xmms packages from Packman . You only need xmms and xmms-lib package.

  • My ATI VGA driver is not detected correctly.

[FIXED] I download the driver again from ATI website and install it.

Leave a Reply

