Blog From The Past : Install WebScarab in OpenSUSE 10.1

Having read many articles about the “greatness” of WebScarab as a web application auditting tool, I am eager to install it on my system. As far as I can remember, I’ve already installed it before, but on my other system, and it should already been gone, because my brother already formatted the disk. :D

When I first install the WebScarab installer (webscarab-installer-20070504-1631.jar), the installer run smoothly until it wanted to copy the files. At first I thought this was a download problem, so I download it again, but the problem still persist. I just give the following command :

$ java -jar webscarab-installer-20070504-1631.jar

After thinking for a while, I found out where the problem was. Apparently, the above command (java) is linked to :

/usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java

It is contained in java-1_4_2-gcj-compat-1.4.2.0-33 package. From the description :

This package contains shell scripts and symbolic links to simulate a JPackage Java runtime environment with GCJ.

Aaargggh….that’s the problem. This is not Sun JDK package.

So I rush to download the latest Sun JDK package. After several hours and sixty million bytes later, the download finished successfully. I unpack and install the JDK and cross my fingers :

# ./jdk-6u1-linux-i586-rpm.bin
# rpm -Uvh jdk-6u1-linux-i586.rpm

The installation run smoothly, so I install WebScarab again. But this time I use this command :

$ /usr/java/jdk1.6.0_01/bin/java -jar webscarab-installer-20070504-1631.jar

This time the installer run successfully.

Next, I fix the WebScarab icon link on the desktop and the KDE menu. Just change the command from :

java -jar “/home/tedi/WebScarab/webscarab.jar”

to

/usr/java/jdk1.6.0_01/bin/java -jar “/home/tedi/WebScarab/webscarab.jar”

Don’t forget to save your changes.

Now I’m able to install and start WebScarab. It’s time to learn how to use it. :D

Leave a Reply

