Upgrading from OpenSUSE 10.1 to OpenSUSE 10.3

After using OpenSUSE 10.1 in my computer for almost two years, finally I decided to upgrade to the latest OpenSUSE 10.3. My decision is also influenced by Novell, they sent me a package containing OpenSUSE 10.3 DVDs retail version. :D

 

The path I used to install OpenSUSE 10.3 is by choosing “Upgrade” method instead of “Install”. Overall, I experience the upgrade process was smooth and easy. It took me around two hours to upgrade my system, involving hundred packages with more than 3GB installed size.

 

I’ve made several mistakes so it slows down the upgrade process :

  • The first one is about choosing additional DVD repository. The default option is not choosing anything, but I chose additional repository. This mistake made OpenSUSE can’t be installed correctly, it fails in the middle of upgrading process. I have to choose “Abort” in order to not damaging my existing system.
  • The second mistake is related with encrypted partition. My home partition is encrypted. After successfully upgraded the system, I can’t access my home partition and also I can’t start the X environment, because the driver is installed to home partition. After researching the problem, I finally figured out the problem, I’ve disabled “boot.crypto” system services from running after booting.

To fix this problem, I started “yast2” in text mode and go to “Expert Mode” and set “boot.crypto” to run in runlevels “B, 3, and 5”.

 

After that little fix, I am able to mount my encrypted home partition by giving the correct passphrase.

 

I tested several applications, and it works well in the new OpenSUSE 10.3 system. Also I can play MP3 without changing anything.

 

Overall I am very impressed with this new OpenSUSE. I am may be biassed. :D

4 thoughts on “Upgrading from OpenSUSE 10.1 to OpenSUSE 10.3

  1. Impressed. Thanks.

    Thinking of doing the same.

    One question:
    When I originallly installed 10.1 on my laptop I had great trouble installing the ATI video driver. Eventually got it going, however. Will I have to go through this aqgro again? Or does it keep the existing ATI driver when upgrading?

    Very happy with Suse 10.1 (Novell retail version) on my laptop. Recently installed Open Suse 10.2 on my desktop. Looks very nice!

    I know I should leave well alone, but I am tempted to leapfrog from 10.1 to 10.3 on the laptop if it will be relatively painless, once again using the Novell version.

    John

  2. Hi John,

    If I am not mistaken the ATI Video driver is binding to the kernel version, then if you upgrade your system to openSUSE 10.3, you need to install the ATI video driver too. In my case, I have to install the ATI video driver again.

    My process to install ATI video driver is very smooth, just download the driver from ATI’s website in http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/linux/linux-radeon.html,
    compile the driver to RPM package, then install it using rpm manager. That’s all.

    You can read more information regarding ATI video driver installation in https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/linux_8.42.3-inst.html

    BTW, before you upgrade your system, please make sure you have backup your data first. Just in case something terrible happen.

  3. I have the same setup, a rock solid 10.1 that I’m reluctant to touch, but then again the package system is horrible and the repositories for 10.1 is hard to find (fast ones anyway).

    So I’m considering upgrading to 10.3. I’m running a VIA board and had no problems installing 10.1 and I don’t have anything special on it (encryption like you). Can I then:

    1. Download the 10.3 image
    2. Boot from CD
    3. Choose upgrade
    4. Get coffee
    5. (Not add more repositories)
    6. Lean back
    7. Remove CD and boot 10.3

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

